A Call for Bilingual Volunteers

Recruitment & Big Cheese Reads Coordinator and School Volunteer Program volunteer Carolina Davila wants to know, “How you are helping our future leaders?”

As a Boston Public Schools alumna, my appreciation for education has truly grown since I graduated high school and college and stepped into the real world. I joined the Boston Partners in Education team back in September as a recent college graduate looking to face new challenges. As the Recruitment & Big Cheese Reads Coordinator, I’ve visited various schools throughout the city; an eye-opening experience after four years of absence. Through this lens I’ve gotten to see how beneficial these volunteers would’ve been to me as I went through middle school coming from Puerto Rico.

Davila, Carolina

Carolina working with her mentee

My parents decided to enroll me in a mainstream English program at the Mary E. Curley (now the Curley K-8 School) instead of seeking bilingual support. I believed my knowledge of the English language from media exposure was more than enough for me to excel. Once in school, I realized there are no subtitles or rewind/pause buttons in real life. Despite my academic success, I second guessed myself. Even when I knew the answer, raising my hand to speak in class was not an option.  Working with a volunteer could have boosted my confidence.

I believe that having a Boston Partners in Education volunteer makes more than an academic impact on a student; it’s a growing experience for both parties. Academic mentors are members of the community who lend their time and effort to make a meaningful impact in a student’s life. A student who has an individual commit to them on a weekly basis respects that person in a different way. It’s respect that is earned rather than expected. The time spent with a student shows that a person cares and the relationship that is built can change the child’s perspective and feelings about education, success, and leadership.

Davila, Carolina

Carolina working with her mentee

As a team, we put a lot of effort into finding, training, and matching the right volunteers with the right students – giving everyone a pleasant experience. As our community’s face continues to change, more and more bilingual support is needed for our students. I’m now an academic mentor through the School Volunteer Program to a BPS eighth grade girl. She’s pretty new to Boston, and her home language is Spanish. Through our similar stories, I hope to inspire her to be different, and make a change.

How are you helping our future leaders?

About Boston Partners in Education

We support BPS students by matching them with trained academic mentors who volunteer in the classroom, during the school day.
This entry was posted in School Volunteer Program, Volunteer Stories and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to A Call for Bilingual Volunteers

  1. Pingback: Wrapping up National Mentoring Month | bostonpartnersineducation

Leave a comment